Elected Officials

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Somerset County is governed and managed by a Board of County Commissioners. The board consists of five members; one or two are elected each year from the County at large to serve three-year terms.


 Somerset County has three elected constitutional officers who provide their own specialized services to residents:

County Clerk – Records property records, takes passport applications, administers notary oaths, issues veteran’s honorable discharge IDs, receives petitions, designs ballots, issues mail-in ballots, tabulates election returns and certifies election results.

Sheriff – Operates the county jail, serves warrants and summonses, provides security for the county courthouse and complex, assists municipal police departments and conducts safety programs for schools and county residents. The Sheriff’s Office is an official year-round medicine drop-off location for unwanted, unused and expired medications.

Surrogate – Probates wills, appoints administrators to estates, appoints guardians of adults and minors, handles trusts for minors and acts as Deputy Clerk to the Superior Court for the processing of adoptions and other matters.